Skip to content

Fashion Trends for Spring 2011-For Girls!

March 11, 2011

Wondering what to look for to add to your wardrobe this spring? Never fear! Due to my constant and almost obsessive perusing of fashion blogs and store websites, I’m bringing you the predicted trends for spring 2011.

Silhouettes

 

Cropped Jeans


Old Navy has already started advertising their oh-so-clever “ankle jeans” for this season. If you’re anything like me, you will opt to go shorter by simply rolling up your pants instead of buying new ones. It’s fast and you don’t have to get anything new!

High-Waisted Flare Jeans

This spring is going back to 70’s in many ways and the polished look of the high-waisted flare pants is just one of them.

Maxi Skirts

Photo Source: Filckr user Idhren

The first time I saw the maxi skirt I assumed it would look hideous on anyone who isn’t a model. However, I have seen multiple examples of a well-worn maxi skirt in the past few weeks that has me changing my mind.

Fabric

 

Prints

(Oh gosh, that’s me in the photo for those of you who don’t know.  I decided to use the most unflattering one because I thought it would be hilarious…?)

Prints were all over the runways for spring 2011.  The more the better.  The trick to not clashing two different prints?  Keep the color palate the same in both garments.

Lace and Crochet

Lace and crocheted pieces are really big in stores right now.  I”m really fond of how romantic these fabrics are.

Sheer

Photo Source: Filckr user MassDistraction

Between the laces and the sheers, you might want to think about stocking up on some slips.  Stores from Urban Outfitters to online stores like NastyGal offer a wide variety of sheer garments.  Perfect for the heat!

Brights


Don’t be afraid to layer on the bright colors this season, especially the yellows and oranges.

Shoes

 

Oxfords/Brogues

(From Left: Charlotte Russe, Lovely People)

Personally, I’m a huge fan of this style. These are all over the stores for spring.  Add a pair of frilly socks to bring you back to grade school.

Clogs
Steve Madden

Designers have managed to make the wooden sole look cute for this season.  Try wearing them with knee-high socks for a really trendy look!

Wedges
Steve Madden

The great thing about wedges?  They’re fairly easy to walk in and you don’t have to worry about getting your skinny stiletto stuck in a hole. Plus, you can find them in almost any shoe store.

Flatforms

When I first beheld these I thought, “Oh no! They’re horrible.”  Sadly, they’re already staring to grow on me, mainly because they are all over the shoe section of Urban Outfitter’s website (and I am an UO slave).  They are kind of like wedge’s younger sister, for those of us who want to be able to walk while wearing shoes.  I think I am rationalizing too much.  What do you think?

Accessories

 

Hats

Cloche, Floppy, Fedora, Boater, Beret: Doesn’t matter!  Hats are in.  The end.

What do you think of the trends for this spring?  What do you like?  Hate?

Leave a Reply

